As our article on Jeffrey Katzenberg highlighted, gathering industry intel is vital for making it in this business. Industrial Scripts looks to the best Twitter Screenwriting resources – from box office numbers, to job opportunities and just plain amusing screenwriters given a voice. Of course, there’s also our own @Indust_Scripts account to follow…

Film Screenwriters

John August @johnaugust
Writer of GO and BIG FISH and avid screenwriting mentor to the internet at large

2_166659
Diablo Cody @diablocody
JUNO and JENNIFER’S BODY writer at the forefront of the industry

Neil Gaimen @neilhimself
Mr. Amanda Palmer – great author and screenwriter with a variety of material

Noel Clarke @NoelClarke
British polymath from KIDULTHOOD and every other Brit film of the past five years (numbers approximate)

Brian Lynch @BrianLynch
Animation screenwriter specialist of PUSS IN BOOTS and HOP

James Moran @jamesmoran
Brit writer of TOWER BLOCK, SEVERANCE and DOCTOR WHO

Brian Koppelman @briankoppelman
OCEAN’S THIRTEEN and ROUNDERS with a great ‘Six Second Screenwriting’ series of Vines.

Ol Parker @olparker1
THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL – sterling young Brit scribe

Stuart Hazeldine @StuartHazeldine
Brit writer of EXAM and upcoming Michael Mann flick AGINCOURT

 

TV Drama Screenwriters

Kurt Sutter @sutterink
Outspoken and controversial SONS OF ANARCHY showrunner

Jane Espenson @JaneEspenson
BUFFY and ONCE UPON A TIME writer with a love of all things fantasy

Shawn Ryan @ShawnRyanTV
Showrunner of THE SHIELD provides smart insight into the mechanics of TV industry

 

TV Comedy Screenwriters

Armando Iannucci @AIannucci
THE THICK OF IT, VEEP, I’M ALAN PARTRIDGE… need we say more?

Megan Ganz @meganganz
MODERN FAMILY, COMMUNITY jokester

Danny Zuker @DannyZuker
MODERN FAMILY exec who often uses his own family for material

Lena Dunham @lenadunham
GIRLS creator with a huge following

Sam Bain @sambaintv
FRESH MEAT and PEEP SHOW creator

Kay Cannon @KayKayCannon
30 ROCK, NEW GIRL & PITCH PERFECT scribe with penchant for live tweeting commentary to shows

Megan Anram @megananram
PARKS AND RECREATION lady with a brilliant stream of one-liners

John Mulaney @mulaney
Saturday Night Live writer

Molly McNearney @MollyMcNearney
Jimmy Kimmel Live writer provides humorous social commentary

twitter screenwritingAndy Bobrow @abobrow
Witty man from COMMUNITY

Karey Dornetto @kareydornetto
From ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT to PORTLANDIA, the Queen of Quirk has a line in sharp humour

Mike Scully 
THE SIMPSONS and EVERYBODY LOVES RAYMOND writer

Seth Macfarlane @SethMacFarlane
Plucky up-and-coming TV writer who could do with your help building his small following, ideal for twitter screenwriting inspiration

 

Industry Intel

Writers Guild Great Britain @TheWritersGuild
The British union for scribes

British Film Insitute @BFI
Keep up to date with goings-on at UK Film’s HQ

Film London @Film_London
Updates from the capital’s film body

Creative England @creativeengland
Funding and training opportunities

Creative Skillset @SkillsetSCC
UK’s creative industries’ skills council

The Tracking Board @MyTrackingBoard
Spec sales and Hollywood intel

Box Office Mojo @BoxOfficeMojo
Does as it says on the tin – crunching box office numbers

International Screenwriters Association @networkisa
All round pool of information for twitter screenwriting

 

Miscellaneous

Mystery Executive @mysteryexec
The grumblings of an anonymous industry insider.

Bad Script Advice @badscrptadvice.
Now defunct, but the archive is a fantastic comedic resource for what you should not be doing.

Adelaide Screenwriter @AdelScreenWri
The Aussie angle and a non-stop stream of quotations

Bitter Script Reader  @BittrScrptReadr
Want to know the mindset of a reader? Great place to start

Bitch Pack @BiatchPack
A strong group for upping women’s representation in the film industry

 

Magazines

Script Magazine @scriptmag

Creative Screenwriting @CreativeScreen

Variety @Variety

The Hollywood Reporter @THR

Screen International @Screendaily

Empire @empiremagazine

Sight & Sound @SightSoundmag

Total Film @totalfilm

Movie Scope Magazine @movieScope

 

Websites & Online Specialists

The Script Lab @thescriptlab

LA Screenwriter @LA_Screenwriter

Script Chat @ScriptChat

Carson Reeves @Scriptshadow


-What did you think of this article? Give it a rating and let us know your thoughts in the comments box further down…

– Struggling with a script or book? Story analysis is what we do, all day, every day… check out our range of services for writers & filmmakers here.

Twitter Screenwriting Accounts Screenwriters Must Follow
4.2Overall Score
Reader Rating: (3 Votes)
4.2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Read previous post:
10 Hollywood Screenwriters Who Burned Bright and Then Faded

Becoming a professional screenwriter is one thing, but staying at the top of the Hollywood screenwriters game is quite another....

Close